Calling the Pot Black

I don’t take well to insults to my character.  Being called a liar? That has to be up there as one of the biggest insults to my character that someone can make.  Recently Kvetcher has called me a liar, and claimed I didn’t think when he mistook my intentions in one of my posts, and now (despite his own rules) says i’m “not very bright”.

So lets go through the times that DK has written with hyperbole just like I did, but I’m the bad person.

Here DK wrote,

I think for refusing to wear tefillin, the son should be publicly whipped, his apartment “donated” to a yeshiva, his secular whore of a girlfriend dragged by a mehadrin Egged-bus around town, and just for good measure, a Modern Orthodox girl should get bleached.

He was clearly trying to mock what some crazies did to some people who weren’t keeping up with their religious standard.  But by his rules we must believe he actually believes we should do those things.

Here it says,

And I am not going to shake hands with Eli anymore. Now I realize…he is just trying to cop a feel.

Well I should hope DK has not shaken Eli’s hand since that date, because then he is the liar.

On this page Kelsey posts a picture of Jim Jones who was the leader of the Jonestown cult where they killed a congressman and themselves.  So his implication is that NCSY will get you to kill yourself and members of congress.  I’m sure that wasn’t his point, but he “didnt think” when using someone like Jones to make a point.

In the same vein, here, Kvetcher has a picture of Stalin and actually has a tag saying that it is Rabbi Pinchas Stolper.  So we are to believe that Rabbi Stolper killed millions of people, ran communist Russia, helped defeat Nazi Germany after making a deal with them, and most importantly is dead.

So, were you trying to make a point with all these examples  (i have many more I just stuck with these), or did you mean for them to be taken literally? Did you think before posting them?

Fortunately, when dealing with people who hate religious people so much, you get used to the double standard.

3 Responses to “Calling the Pot Black”

  1. DK Says:

    Again, the difference is quite simple. No one seriously compares NCSY to Jim Jones, so I wasn’t worried that people would take me seriously here. Also, no one seriously compares Pinchas Stolper or any OU rabbi to the communist Stalin, so I wasn’t worried about anyone taking it seriously. However, there is a significant radical element that does compare meat eating and animal rights issues to the genocide, so conflating my criticism with theirs could be confusing, and considering the willingness of Kiruvniks to demonize their opponents as “self-hating Jews,” something one should be careful of.

  2. Garnel Ironheart Says:

    When you are dealing with hate, you can’t expect rational thinking.

  3. cheerer Says:

    DK-
    People have compared NCSY to a cult in the past (just look at your postings on Wiki) so the Jim Jones reference IS a problem.

    No one was going to confuse you with the radical elements that make eating meat with murder, because I linked the posting, all they had to do was read it. Didn’t you use that exact logic before? Right, forgot, its a double standard.


Leave a Reply

